International Baccalaureate appoints Dr Shehzad Jeeva as new Chief Education Officer


Last updated:

The International Baccalaureate (IB) is pleased to announce that Dr Shehzad Jeeva joined the IB as the Chief Education Officer in January 2024. Shehzad is based in The Hague Global Centre and serves as a member of the Executive Team to drive the mission and strategy of the IB’s work across the globe.

A prominent figure in the field of education, Shehzad is driven by his commitment to create a better world through quality education. As the CEO of the Aga Khan University Examination Board since 2014 and the recipient of the Award of Distinction in 2022, his visionary leadership and persistent efforts have transformed the Examination Board from a start-up into a model of excellence and a financially sustainable organization. 

‌"We are thrilled to have Shehzad Jeeva join us and lend his expertise to the IB in this next stage of our development. As we look toward increasing access for students and educators globally, Shehzad will undoubtedly provide the leadership and expertise needed to elevate high-quality education and promote the development of our curriculum in the communities we aim to serve throughout the world." —Olli-Pekka Heinonen, Director General at the IB.   

Shehzad has played a pivotal role in shaping education policies in Pakistan, introducing innovative solutions, and making a significant impact through initiatives like the new grading system and Assessment Policy Framework of the Government of Punjab in 2020. His involvement extends to developing promotion policy guidelines during the COVID-19 pandemic. 

In addition to his most recent CEO role, Shehzad serves as the Vice President of the International Association for Educational Assessment (IAEA). He has held key positions, including Chairman of the Inter Board Coordination Commission (IBCC) and the National Steering Committee of the Federal Ministry of Education for the Government of Pakistan. He has been a member of the Senate of Karakoram International University, the National Curriculum Council, the Sindh Curriculum Council, the Punjab Curriculum and Textbook Board and the Punjab Examination Commission.