Past directors general

Last updated:

Below, you'll find links to information about past directors general of the International Baccalaureate® (IB).

  • Siva Kumari, Director General from 2014 to 2021

    Dr Siva Kumari started her tenure as the seventh Director General of the International Baccalaureate (IB) in January 2014 and is the first woman to hold the post.

  • Jeffrey R. Beard, Director General from 2006 to 2013

    Jeffrey joined the organization in September 2005, before becoming Director General in 2006.

    He brought extensive management experience to the IB.

  • George Walker, Director General from 1999 to 2005

    In post until his retirement, George had a long career in education. He was headteacher of state comprehensive schools in the UK, and Director General of the International School of Geneva.

  • Derek Blackman, Director General from 1998 to 1999

    Before taking the role of Director General, Derek held posts as Chair of the IB Board of Examiners and Chief Examiner in Psychology.

  • Roger M. Peel, Director General from 1983 to 1998

    During Roger’s time as Director General, the IB launched both the Middle Years Programme (MYP) and the Primary Years Programme (PYP).

  • Gérard Renaud, Director General from 1977 to 1983

    As a teacher at the International School of Geneva, Gérard played an important role in the founding of the IB.

    He helped shape both the Diploma Programme (DP) and the MYP.

  • Alec Peterson, Director General from 1968 to 1977

    The IB’s first Director General, Alec shaped the educational philosophy of the IB.

    A pioneer in international education and was a recognised expert in the field of comparative education.