In this section

Primary Years Programme

Find an IB World School

The IB in
 Print this page  Print this page
 Email this page Email this page

Primary Years Programme at a glance

What is the curriculum framework?

The curriculum framework consists of five essential elements: concepts, knowledge, skills, attitudes, action. The knowledge component is developed through inquiries into six transdisciplinary themes of global significance, supported and balanced by six subject areas.


This is illustrated by the hexagon below.

Primary years programme
The curriculum framework is further structured around three interrelated questions.

  • What do we want to learn? The written curriculum.
  • How best will we learn? The taught curriculum.
  • How will we know what we have learned? The assessed curriculum.


2 / 6
   previous  next