In this section

Find an IB World School

The IB in

Regional Council

The IB Africa, Europe, Middle East council serves as a strategic advisory board for the regional director and provides information and assistance related to IB issues in various parts of the region.

There are 13 members, elected by the Regional Council:

  • Six Heads of IB World Schools
    • Two from nominations from the Heads Council
    • Four from nominations from Heads in the region
  • Seven other members bringing a wide range of skills and experience based on the strategic needs of the region.


Members of the Regional Council

Peter Murphy

Peter Murphy
Director, Vienna International School, Austria

Ulrika Wigman

Ulrika Wiman
Principal, International School of Lund-Katedralskolan, Sweden

Ivan Boragine

Ivano Boragine
Director, Rome International School, Italy

Andrew Derry

Andrew Derry
Principal, The British International School, Budapest, Hungary

Luis Rey Luis Rey Goñi
Dirección del Colegio de San Francisco de Paula, Spain

Hana Al Nasser Malhas
School Principal
Mashrek International School, Jordan

Abbey Mathekga Abbey Mathekga
Head, Higher Education Enrolment Programme, Higher Education, South Africa
Sandra Morton Sandra Morton
Chair, IB Schools & Colleges Association (IBSCA), UK
Jaap Moss Jaap Mos
Director, Rijnlands

International School Utrecht, NL

Nievees Segovia

Nieves Segovia
Dirección General SEK, Spain



Adrian Keraney Adrian Kearney
Regional Director, IB Africa, Europe, Middle East

(HC) = Member of Heads Council

Regional Council News

Regional Council Nominations 2014

If you are interested in serving on the Regional Council, for a period of three years, you are kindly invited and strongly urged to complete the nomination form by 7 November 2014, found online: Click here


The Regional Council met on 16th and 17th of May 2014.